Primal Scream vs. Spiritualized

This record saved my life
This record saved my life

Myself and Lorraine went to the Galway Arts Fest last week and we saw Primal Scream and Spritualized. It is a treat to see either, but to see both was just amazing.

Stoner drones with Gospel undertones were delivered with aplomb by Spiritualized. Fantastic. My only criticism would be 1) I hate strobes (they make me feel funny) and there was a /lot/ of strobe action. They did however add to the general sense of euphoric disintegration that ensued, 2) I hate to see people smash up expensive Amps and Guitars.

It was exciting when Pete Townsend did it (though it nearly bankrupted the Who) but I don’t like it. As the proud owner of a Fender Jaguar (and a nice Marshal AS100D amp) I think I would rather tear out a finger nail than smash up either.

The kicking over of amps and impaling with guitars that ensued was unnecessary. Down with this sort of thing.

Primal Scream – fantastic. I hoped to relive one of the best live gigs of my life (Glastonbury ’92) and while it wasn’t the same (things change don’t ya know) we had a deadly night and bopped like maniacs. Shouts out to the many lone mentalists we encountered, especially the guy who insisted on touching himself very publicly while dancing. Hats off to the freaks lol.

Published by

Joshue O Connor

Musical Web Monkey with a special interest in Web Standards. For more work stuff see http://www.cfit.ie. For more music stuff see http://www.techrecord.net

One thought on “Primal Scream vs. Spiritualized”

  1. 1Special Song for you….

    Soldier Of Fortune ( Depp Purple)

    I have often told you stories
    About the way
    I lived the life of a drifter
    Waiting for the day
    When I’d take your hand
    And sing you songs
    Then maybe you would say
    Come lay with me love me
    And I would surely stay

    But I feel I’m growing older
    And the songs that I have sung
    Echo in the distance
    Like the sound
    Of a windmill goin’ ’round
    I guess I’ll always be…
    A soldier of fortune

    Many times I’ve been a traveller
    I looked for something new
    In days of old
    When nights were cold
    I wandered without you
    But those days I thougt my eyes
    Had seen you standing near
    Though blindness is confusing
    It shows that you’re not here

    Now I feel I’m growing older
    And the songs that I have sung
    Echo in the distance
    Like the sound
    Of a windmill goin’ ’round
    I guess I’ll always be…
    A soldier of fortune
    Yes, I can hear the sound
    Of a windmill goin’ ’round
    I guess I’ll always be
    A soldier of fortune

Leave a Reply

