Technology & Music

There are things that I love about rapid advances made in technology. For example, I have more audio equipment and digital editing possibilities at my fingertips than the Beatles had! (Though they had better microphones, and lets face it they also had George Harrison, who is my favourite of the Mop Tops) The possibilities that exist and the democritisation of music has blown the whole thing wide open. I run my own record label Technica Curiosa records.
Everyone is a musician now, even non musicians, in fact we seem to live in an age now of “non-music”. We have noise artists, Abelton Live Jockeys who cannot play a note but can produce loop basedd tunes very easily ( I use it myself but feel kinda like I’m allowed as I have been picking guitar for nearly 20 years) others make tunes via the “lego method” (which is rearranging audio chunks around a sequencer page like lego blocks”) and all of this can be very quickly and easily be uploaded and shared with the world. This then begs the question – Where are the audience? If everyone is a potential musician is the audience disappearing?

There is so much music out there I don’t have the time or the patience to sift through all of this mucis and decide what is good or bad, in fact my ability to discriminate is being compromised by the sheer volume of choice!! Unless I grow extra ears then so much will go undiscovered. This is where good on line music magazines like the Milk Factory come into their own as they provide a great window into anything decent thats happening. This is of course highly subjective and not everyone likes the WIRE though its one of the highest quaility music magazines in the world.
I heard an old interview with Jacqueline Dupre last night. She was a fantastic cellist and a passionate musician. A colleague of hers said that when she was sick (she developed Multiple Sclerosis) and she would play she would make many mistakes but the depth of feeling and the intensity that she gave to her music made these mistakes more beautiful, they enhanced the music. he said that a technically excellent professional musician who made the same mistakes would hurt your ears, but from her it coloured the whole performance.
So maybe it is the intent behind music that is important. I often feel, what do I want to say with my music?? If I have nothing to say then I figure I’ll be quiet. Often these days others are clamouring for our attention and when you give it, there is nothing there.

Published by

Joshue O Connor

Musical Web Monkey with a special interest in Web Standards. For more work stuff see http://www.cfit.ie. For more music stuff see http://www.techrecord.net

Leave a Reply

